portaltennessee.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

DUIs in Tennessee

Getting a DUI in Tennessee leads to a variety of legal consequences and driving penalties. Charges for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, more commonly referred to as DUI and DWI charges, come with strict penalties. DUI laws are strict because they are designed to reduce repeat offenders and create a safer environment for all drivers. DUI consequences include fines, jail time, community service, vehicle impoundment, revoked driving privileges and other serious penalties. If you are charged with DUI tickets in Tennessee, then it is wise to get a DUI lawyer, even if you do not wish to contest any of your charges. Find a drunk driving attorney to help you with your case right here. Building a strong DWI defense on your own is a challenge, but with lawyer DWI assistance, charges may be lessened or eliminated. Below, find all of the drunk driving information you need to know about hiring a DUI attorney in Tennessee.

When are Tennessee DUI and DWI tickets issued?

You could be charged with a DUI in Tennessee anytime you drink and drive or use drugs before driving. You will get a DUI if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is greater than .08 percent. You can also receive DUI penalties if you are driving erratically, such as driving too fast or too slow or showing any other signs of impairment, even if your BAC test reveals a level below .08 percent. Tennessee DUI law states you must give a BAC test when asked, known as implied consent. You may automatically be charged with DWI offenses if you refuse this test and the officer can order a warrant to obtain a blood test. In most cases, after getting a DWI, you will be taken into custody to serve a mandatory jail sentence. Not only is this the law, but it would also be illegal for the officer to allow you to drive home while still under the influence.

Many residents do not understand the extent of what happens if you get a DUI in Tennessee after being charged. They should know that DUI consequences can last for months and even years. If a driver is charged with a DUI, then a DUI defense attorney can be found here.

Tennessee DUI Information to Be Aware of Relating to Drugs

Being charged with a drug DUI ticket in Tennessee is slightly different than an alcohol-related DUI. While many of the drug DUI penalties are exactly the same, it is important to be aware that drug DUIs are issued differently. Since most drugs do not register on a BAC test, you may be required to take additional driver impairment tests so the officer can gauge your sobriety. Driving under the influence of over-the-counter medications, narcotics, marijuana or other drugs can still constitute a DUI. Note that you can still get a DUI in TN for driving under the influence of a drug that is prescribed to you if it impairs your driving ability. Hire a Tennessee drug DUI attorney here if you have been charged with impaired driving as a result of drugs.

When to Hire a DUI Defense Lawyer in Tennessee

After getting a DUI in Tennessee, it is in your best interest to hire a DWI lawyer to help you right away. You may be wondering, “Why hire a DUI attorney in Tennessee?” regardless of whether you have been charged with DUIs multiple times or just once. You should know that having a strong DUI defense is important no matter what type of DUI charge you are dealing with. A DWI attorney will help you through the court process that follows a DUI charge. Many consequences for DUIs are mandatory, but a judge may impose additional penalties at his or her discretion during court. Having a DWI defense attorney present will ensure that you get the legal representation you require as a defendant. If you have been charged with a DWI and need legal help, then you can find drunk driving lawyers here to help you in court.

Penalties for DUIs in Tennessee

The consequences for DUIs in Tennessee can be severe, affecting your life for months or years. First of all, there are several standard DUI penalties that you will likely face no matter how many times you have offended. These include having your driving license revoked, paying a fine of anywhere from $350 to $15,000, probation with litter removal community services and spending 48 hours to 120 days in jail. The highest fines and jail sentences are reserved for those charged with multiple offenses. If your driving privileges are revoked after you are charged with a DUI, then you can obtain a temporary driving license with the label DUI Offender listed on the front.

You could face additional drunk driving consequences in Tennessee depending on the circumstances of your DUI arrest. Additional DWI penalties may include:

  • Forfeiting your vehicle or having it impounded.
  • Being charged with aggravated assault, if anyone is injured as a result of your DUI.
  • Being charged with aggravated child endangerment, if anyone under 18 years of age was in your vehicle while you were driving under the influence.
  • Spending time in prison on top of your mandatory jail time.
  • Taking a court-mandated alcohol or drug treatment program or driving safety school.
  • Making restitution payments to anyone who suffered losses due to your impaired driving.
  • Installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

Tennessee DUI consequences are much higher if anyone else is endangered by your actions. After getting DUI tickets for a serious charge, you may be convicted of a misdemeanor or even a low-class felony in court. With lawyer DUI assistance, charges can be lessened in some cases. A criminal DUI attorney may be your best asset if you are charged with a serious DUI offense. In general, getting a criminal DUI lawyer is a good idea if anyone else was injured as a result of your driving. Find qualified DUI defense attorneys in Tennessee here.


More information